Oxford University v Minor Counties
University Match 1939
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 7th, 8th, 9th June 1939 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossOxford University won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMinor Counties won by 4 wickets
UmpiresR Richards, E Rushbridge
Close of play day 1Minor Counties (1) 83/2 (Parnaby 22*, Roberts 7*)
Close of play day 2Oxford University (2) 179/7 (England 21*, Macindoe 4*)

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JM Lomasb Wilkinson0     
WSP Lithgowc Appleyard b Surridge6     
RB Proudc and b Appleyard71     
J Stanninglbw b Dennis39     
*EJH Dixonc Appleyard b Surridge53     
GRJ de Soysalbw b Surridge4     
+RM Englandb Appleyard5     
AJB Marshamc Surridge b Rought-Rought51     
DH Macindoenot out43     
MH Farebrotherb Surridge0     
JMF Connaughtonb Surridge6     
Extras(1 b, 2 nb)3
Total(all out, 65.5 overs)281
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-12, 3-117, 4-120, 5-133, 6-146, 7-210, 8-253, 9-253, 10-281 (65.5 ov)
Minor Counties bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilkinson9   1241--
Rought-Rought12   2521--
Appleyard19   2792--
Roberts5   0450--
Dennis9   1371--

Minor Counties first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+GS Mobeyc Farebrother b Macindoe15     
F Dennisc and b Farebrother29     
AH Parnabyc Connaughton b Macindoe29     
EA Robertsb Macindoe20     
DJF Watsonc England b Farebrother33     
HWF Taylorc Macindoe b Marsham1     
GH Rogersb Marsham0     
DC Rought-Roughtc England b Marsham5     
*W Lovell-Hewittrun out69     
WS Surridgec Proud b Marsham20     
F Appleyardnot out0     
Extras(9 b, 1 lb, 5 w)15
Total(all out, 56.2 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-72, 3-91, 4-110, 5-113, 6-113, 7-121, 8-178, 9-236, 10-236 (56.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Macindoe17   7423--
Farebrother11   1492--
Connaughton8   2280--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JM Lomaslbw b Appleyard12     
WSP Lithgowb Rought-Rought14     
RB Proudb Rought-Rought33     
J Stanningb Appleyard9     
*EJH Dixonlbw b Appleyard10     
GRJ de Soysac Roberts b Dennis67     
+RM Englandnot out43     
AJB Marshamst Mobey b Rought-Rought5     
DH Macindoec Mobey b Surridge51     
MH Farebrotherc Rought-Rought b Surridge1     
JMF Connaughtonb Surridge0     
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 5 nb)11
Total(all out, 72.3 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-38, 3-49, 4-61, 5-124, 6-158, 7-167, 8-246, 9-254, 10-256 (72.3 ov)
Minor Counties bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rought-Rought21   2673--
Appleyard24   7803--
Dennis12   2391--

Minor Counties second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+GS Mobeyb Marsham29     
F Dennisc Stanning b Macindoe0     
AH Parnabyc Lithgow b Farebrother101     
DJF Watsonlbw b Farebrother35     
*W Lovell-Hewittc and b Marsham92     
HWF Taylornot out19     
GH Rogersc Dixon b Marsham8     
DC Rought-Roughtnot out10     
EA Robertsdid not bat      
WS Surridgedid not bat      
F Appleyarddid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(6 wickets, 69.7 overs)304
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-41, 3-142, 4-234, 5-275, 6-287
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Macindoe22   3921--
Farebrother17   3792--
Connaughton6   2180--

--> Minor Counties full substitute: DJF Watson for FW Wilkinson (Watson allowed to replace Wilkinson who was injured after bowling 9 overs)
--> RB Proud (1) passed his previous highest score of 63 in first-class matches
--> J Stanning made his debut in first-class matches
--> AJB Marsham (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> MH Farebrother made his debut in first-class matches
--> AH Parnaby made his debut in first-class matches
--> DJF Watson made his debut in first-class matches
--> HWF Taylor made his debut in first-class matches
--> GH Rogers made his debut in first-class matches
--> WS Surridge made his debut in first-class matches
--> F Appleyard made his debut in first-class matches
--> FW Wilkinson made his debut in first-class matches
--> GRJ de Soysa (2) passed his previous highest score of 56 in first-class matches
--> RM England (2) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> DH Macindoe (2) passed his previous highest score of 50 in first-class matches
--> W Lovell-Hewitt (2) passed his previous highest score of 69 in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive