Lancashire v Middlesex
County Championship 1938
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 24th, 25th, 26th August 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMiddlesex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresE Robinson, CN Woolley
Close of play day 1Middlesex (1) 332 all out
Close of play day 2No play

Middlesex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Brownc Washbrook b Nutter114      
JDB Robertsonb Wilkinson52      
GOB Allenc Hopwood b Phillipson22      
GE Hartb Nutter0      
*RWV Robinsb Wilkinson28      
JHA Hulmeb Phillipson4      
BL Muncerlbw b Wilkinson16      
+WFF Priceb Pollard39      
CIJ Smithc Washbrook b Phillipson8      
IAR Peeblesc Pollard b Wilkinson19      
LH Graynot out5      
Extras(11 b, 14 lb)25
Total(all out, 109.2 overs)332
Fall of wickets:
1-95, 2-137, 3-138, 4-203, 5-211, 6-239, 7-255, 8-267, 9-320, 10-332 (109.2 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Phillipson28   7703--
Wilkinson31   6904--
Nutter28   4772--
Parkin2   090--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Hopwoodb Robins13      
C Washbrookc and b Robertson55      
J Iddonnot out26      
N Oldfieldnot out23      
*WHL Listerdid not bat      
AE Nutterdid not bat      
RH Parkindid not bat      
WE Phillipsondid not bat      
+W Farrimonddid not bat      
R Pollarddid not bat      
LL Wilkinsondid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 1 w)6
Total(2 wickets, 43.1 overs)123
Fall of wickets:
1-38, 2-84
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith6   1130--
Gray7   1120--
Robins9   1231--
Peebles6   1240--
Robertson10   0311--

--> SM Brown (1) passed his previous highest score of 65 in first-class matches
--> SM Brown (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> SM Brown (1) passed his previous highest score of 65 in County Championship matches
--> SM Brown (1) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> LL Wilkinson reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Middlesex first innings

Brown scored his first championship hundred, 114, ten 4's, 225 minutes.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive