Gloucestershire v Warwickshire
County Championship 1938
VenueAshley Down Ground, Bristol on 28th, 30th, 31st May 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGloucestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresHG Baldwin, JA Newman
Close of play day 1Gloucestershire (1) 324/5 (Crapp 116*, Sinfield 19*)
Close of play day 2Warwickshire (1) 148/1 (Croom 60*, Wyatt 5*)

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*BO Allenb Paine50     
CJ Barnettb Paine57     
GM Emmettc Wyatt b Paine13     
WR Hammondc Dollery b Mayer57     
JF Crappnot out116     
WL Nealeb Mayer5     
RA Sinfieldnot out19     
LM Cranfielddid not bat      
V Hopkinsdid not bat      
TWJ Goddarddid not bat      
+AE Wilsondid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 5 lb)7
Total(5 wickets, declared, 129 overs)324
Fall of wickets:
1-69, 2-105, 3-134, 4-214, 5-226
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mayer20   4482--
Wilmot12   2260--
Hollies43   13970--
Paine49   61293--
Wyatt5   1170--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AJW Croomnot out60     
FR Santallc Hopkins b Cranfield75     
RES Wyattnot out5     
*P Cranmerdid not bat      
JH Mayerdid not bat      
GAE Painedid not bat      
WE Holliesdid not bat      
HE Dollerydid not bat      
+J Buckinghamdid not bat      
JS Orddid not bat      
K Wilmotdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 1 w)8
Total(1 wicket, 34 overs)148
Fall of wickets:
1-134 (Santall)
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hammond8   2350--
Barnett2   090--
Goddard15   0720--
Sinfield3   080--
Cranfield6   1161--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> JF Crapp (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 84
--> RA Sinfield (1) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3

JF Crapp 116, ten 4's, 205 minutes.
During the match TWJ Goddard fractured the thumb of his left hand.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive