Kent v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1937
VenueSt Lawrence Ground, Canterbury on 4th, 5th, 6th August 1937 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNottinghamshire won by 5 wickets
PointsKent 0; Nottinghamshire 15
UmpiresW Bestwick, A Skelding
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 332 all out
Close of play day 2Kent (2) 105/5 (Todd 28*, Davies 3*)

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Ashdownb Woodhead25      
PR Sunnucksc Wheat b Staples16      
FE Woolleyb Woodhead2      
+LEG Amesc and b Bradley93      
LJ Toddc Harris b Woodhead135      
FGH Chalkc Butler b Bradley6      
JGW Daviesc Gunn b Butler17      
*BH Valentineb Woodhead7      
DVP Wrightc Wheat b Bradley22      
CG Colest Wheat b Bradley1      
C Lewisnot out0      
Extras(2 b, 5 lb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 107.2 overs)332
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-43, 3-55, 4-179, 5-189, 6-235, 7-256, 8-307, 9-307, 10-332 (107.2 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Butler28   6891--
Staples20   5481--
Bradley22   01164--
Harris6   1110--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonb Wright27      
CB Harrisb Wright21      
J Knowleslbw b Todd41      
J Hardstaffc Woolley b Davies97      
GV Gunnc Woolley b Wright5      
A Staplesc Ashdown b Wright29      
*GFH Heanec Ames b Davies22      
HJ Butlerlbw b Wright2      
FG Woodheadlbw b Wright0      
+AB Wheatc and b Wright0      
J Bradleynot out5      
Extras(1 b, 10 lb, 5 nb)16
Total(all out, 82.1 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-56, 3-113, 4-128, 5-198, 6-242, 7-253, 8-253, 9-253, 10-265 (82.1 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Todd21   4661--
Cole15   4410--
Wright28   1947--
Lewis6   270--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Ashdownc Harris b Heane13      
PR Sunnucksc Staples b Heane5      
FE Woolleyc Bradley b Woodhead5      
+LEG Amesc Heane b Bradley44      
LJ Toddb Woodhead72      
FGH Chalkb Woodhead7      
JGW Daviesc Harris b Heane49      
*BH Valentinec Wheat b Woodhead37      
DVP Wrightnot out4      
CG Colec Hardstaff b Butler5      
C Lewisdid not bat      
Extras(1 w)1
Total(9 wickets, declared, 69 overs)242
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-22, 3-26, 4-90, 5-99, 6-185, 7-223, 8-232, 9-242 (69 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Butler10   1351--
Woodhead24   6504--
Staples14   0520--
Bradley10   0501--
Heane11   0543--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WW Keetonc and b Lewis51      
CB Harrisc Valentine b Todd8      
J Knowleslbw b Davies84      
J Hardstaffc Cole b Davies126      
GV Gunnnot out16      
A Stapleslbw b Wright0      
*GFH Heanenot out12      
HJ Butlerdid not bat      
FG Woodheaddid not bat      
+AB Wheatdid not bat      
J Bradleydid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)14
Total(5 wickets, 68 overs)311
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-126, 3-270, 4-279, 5-279
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Todd7   0441--
Cole7   1280--
Wright25   21041--
Davies22   3742--
Lewis5   0291--
Woolley2   0180--

--> LJ Todd (1) passed his previous highest score of 130 in County Championship matches
--> LJ Todd (1) passed his previous highest score of 130 in first-class matches
--> LEG Ames (2) passed 23000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 39
--> J Knowles (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 42
--> J Hardstaff (2) 100 in 51 minutes
--> J Hardstaff (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 91
--> J Bradley achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 2-86)
--> J Bradley achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Kent first innings (previous best was 2-86)
--> JGW Davies reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings

Hardstaff's century was the fastest of the season and won him the Walter Lawrence Trophy.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive