Lancashire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1932
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 23rd, 25th, 26th July 1932 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 132 runs
PointsLancashire 15; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresWA Buswell, EF Field
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 6/0 (Berry 3*, Wigginton 2*)
Close of play day 2Lancashire (2) 116/6 (Paynter 63*, Sibbles 0*)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FB Watsonc Corrall b Marlow66      
JL Hopwoodc HA Smith b Geary3      
GE Tyldesleyst Corrall b Astill55      
J Iddonc Snary b Astill0      
E Paynterc sub b Snary76      
FD Beattieb HA Smith19      
*HRW Butterworthlbw b Snary12      
FM Sibblesb Snary6      
FS Boothrun out5      
+G Duckworthlbw b Snary0      
G Hodgsonnot out2      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb)4
Total(all out, 129.3 overs)248
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-121, 3-122, 4-133, 5-177, 6-210, 7-216, 8-224, 9-231, 10-248 (129.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Geary10   661--
HA Smith32   10591--
Marlow18   1701--
Astill26   6522--
Armstrong5   280--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryc Duckworth b Iddon53      
SH Wiggintonlbw b Iddon23      
NF Armstrongc Tyldesley b Iddon0      
WA Smithc Tyldesley b Iddon10      
*CWC Packeb Booth26      
WE Astillnot out21      
HC Snaryb Booth0      
HA Smithb Iddon2      
WH Marlowb Booth0      
+P Corralllbw b Booth0      
G Gearyabsent hurt
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 88.3 overs)141
Fall of wickets:
1-49, 2-59, 3-86, 4-89, 5-133, 6-133, 7-138, 8-139, 9-141 (88.3 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hodgson7   440--
Sibbles13   3270--
Butterworth18   3450--
Iddon32   15335--
Hopwood12   3230--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FB Watsonlbw b HA Smith18      
E Paynterc WA Smith b Astill90      
GE Tyldesleyc and b Marlow10      
J Iddonlbw b Astill9      
FD Beattieb Marlow0      
JL Hopwoodc Snary b Astill3      
*HRW Butterworthb Marlow11      
FM Sibblesc Snary b Astill6      
FS Boothnot out4      
+G Duckworthlbw b Astill0      
G Hodgsonst Corrall b Astill0      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)4
Total(all out, 70.1 overs)155
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-56, 3-79, 4-82, 5-89, 6-116, 7-151, 8-151, 9-151, 10-155 (70.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
HA Smith15   5231--
Marlow18   5423--
Snary17   3450--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GL Berryc and b Booth33      
SH Wiggintonb Booth9      
NF Armstrongc Hodgson b Iddon15      
WA Smithst Duckworth b Iddon26      
*CWC Packelbw b Sibbles7      
WE Astillb Iddon22      
HC Snarylbw b Iddon1      
HA Smithc Tyldesley b Hodgson0      
WH Marlowc Paynter b Hodgson4      
+P Corrallnot out6      
G Gearyabsent hurt
Extras(3 b, 4 lb)7
Total(all out, 57.2 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-50, 3-74, 4-93, 5-95, 6-99, 7-106, 8-124, 9-130 (57.2 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hodgson8   0362--
Sibbles11   3231--
Booth14   2202--

--> FB Watson (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 62
--> E Paynter (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 58
--> WA Smith (2) passed his previous highest score of 19 in County Championship matches
--> HC Snary reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Lancashire first innings
--> J Iddon reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> FS Booth reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> FS Booth achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 4-26)
--> FM Sibbles reached 450 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive