Southern Tasmania Cricket Association v Lord Harris' XI
Lord Harris' XI in Australia and New Zealand 1878/79
VenueLower Domain Ground, Hobart on 10th, 11th January 1879 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
PlayersSouthern Tasmania Cricket Association: 18; Lord Harris' XI: 11
TossLord Harris' XI won the toss and decided to field
ResultLord Harris' XI won by 6 wickets
Close of play day 1

Southern Tasmania Cricket Association first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EMT Boddamrun out2     
EH Butlerb Ulyett7     
JC Lordb Emmett3     
JG Daviesc Royle b Emmett13     
WH Walkerc Ulyett b Emmett8     
EJ Freemanc Hornby b Emmett7     
JE Bennisonc Hornby b Emmett5     
W Martinb Ulyett0     
G Farmerb Lucas8     
HC Lovettb Emmett0     
J Aitkinb Lucas3     
E Lucasrun out0     
E Nicholsonb Emmett3     
LY Priorb Lucas4     
E Wrightb Emmett3     
CE Daviesb Lucas5     
E Copplestoneb Emmett4     
HV Baylynot out1     
Extras(5 b, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 53.2 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-?, 12-?, 13-?, 14-?, 15-?, 16-?, 17-82 (53.2 ov)
Lord Harris' XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Emmett25   9339--
Ulyett18   8242--
Absolom2   110--

Lord Harris' XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AP Lucasb Bayly26     
G Ulyettc Wright b Butler13     
AJ Webbec Freeman b Boddam3     
AN Hornbynot out61     
*Lord Harrisb Bayly0     
F Pennb Bayly1     
T Emmettrun out1     
VPFA Royleb Boddam5     
CA Absolomrun out4     
L Honeb Boddam5     
HC Maulc and b Boddam0     
Total(all out, 69.3 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-133 (69.3 ov)
Southern Tasmania Cricket Association bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Butler8   1201--
Bayly27   13343--

Southern Tasmania Cricket Association second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EMT Boddamb Emmett0     
EH Butlerrun out5     
JC Lordc Absolom b Emmett5     
JG Daviesc Royle b Lucas23     
WH Walkerb Ulyett33     
EJ Freemanc Hone b Ulyett27     
JE Bennisonb Ulyett1     
W Martinb Emmett0     
G Farmerb Ulyett0     
HC Lovettb Ulyett0     
J Aitkinnot out17     
E Lucasb Ulyett0     
E Nicholsonb Ulyett0     
LY Priorb Emmett0     
E Wrightb Ulyett1     
CE Daviesb Emmett0     
E Copplestoneb Emmett0     
HV Baylyb Ulyett4     
Total(all out, 99.1 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-?, 12-?, 13-?, 14-?, 15-?, 16-?, 17-142 (99.1 ov)
Lord Harris' XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Emmett43   23516--
Absolom5   1140--
Lucas16   6251--
Royle3   060--

Lord Harris' XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AP Lucasnot out45     
G Ulyettc Butler b Martin22     
AJ Webbeb Bayly4     
AN Hornbyc Bayly b Boddam3     
*Lord Harrisnot out13     
F Pennb Bayly4     
T Emmettdid not bat      
VPFA Royledid not bat      
CA Absolomdid not bat      
L Honedid not bat      
HC Mauldid not bat      
Total(4 wickets, 44.1 overs)94
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?
Southern Tasmania Cricket Association bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Butler7   0140--
Boddam10   2321--
Martin5   1151--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
The extras in three innings out of four were in the scores as they appeared in the sporting papers all "jumbled up" together. In another account in the second innings of the 18 Freeman is bowled Ulyett 29. Scorers have much to blame for carelessness. This was a small ground, but delightfully picturesque, being on the top of a small hill from which is a fine view.
The team were jaded after a ball at Government House on the 9th, otherwise the game would have been over even sooner than it was. They left Hobart Town by coach at noon on Sunday the 12th and arrived at Launceston at 9 pm that evening, a distance of 133 miles.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive