New South Wales and Victoria v HH Stephenson's XI
HH Stephenson's XI in Australia 1861/62
VenueThe Domain, Sydney on 13th, 14th February 1862 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
PlayersNew South Wales and Victoria: 22; HH Stephenson's XI: 11
TossHH Stephenson's XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew South Wales and Victoria won by 12 wickets
UmpiresPC Curtis, W Mudie
Close of play day 1New South Wales and Victoria (1) 81/12

HH Stephenson's XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Bennettrun out (Cosstick->Gilbert)7     
R Iddisonst Thomson b Gilbert14     
G Griffithc Gregory b Gilbert11     
W Mortlockc Gilbert b G Moore4     
W Caffynrun out (Gilbert)6     
E Stephensonst Thomson b Gilbert0     
*HH Stephensonc Cosstick b G Moore4     
G Wellsc G Moore b Gilbert2     
T Sewellc Gregory b G Moore1     
C Lawrencenot out4     
T Hearnec Curtis b G Moore7     
Total(all out, 41.3 overs)60
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-22, 3-27, 4-42, 5-42, 6-42, 7-46, 8-47, 9-51, 10-60 (41.3 ov)
New South Wales and Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gilbert21   ?384--
G Moore20.3?224--

New South Wales and Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AL Parkrun out (HH Stephenson)20     
JC Brodiec Bennett b Sewell7     
F Rowleyst HH Stephenson b Iddison3     
Smithb Lawrence4     
Curranb Lawrence10     
J Huddlestonst HH Stephenson b Caffyn11     
JL Kettleb Caffyn2     
NFD Thomsonc and b Caffyn5     
S Cosstickc Iddison b Caffyn10     
HCE Newcombelbw b Lawrence1     
T Huddlestonb Lawrence0     
SG Hopkinsonrun out (E Stephenson->HH Stephenson)5     
GT Curtisb Lawrence0     
EJ Gregoryb Lawrence5     
*GHB Gilbertc Iddison b Caffyn0     
T Moorest HH Stephenson b Caffyn6     
JT Clarkec Wells b Lawrence0     
J Moorec and b Lawrence3     
G Elliottrun out2     
J Boakc Griffith b Caffyn3     
J Conwaynot out2     
G Moorec Iddison b Lawrence0     
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(all out, 83 overs)101
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-22, 3-27, 4-41, 5-56, 6-58, 7-64, 8-74, 9-74, 10-75, 11-75, 12-76, 13-81, 14-81, 15-87, 16-91, 17-91, 18-94, 19-97, 20-99, 21-101 (83 ov)
HH Stephenson's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sewell10   ?91--
Griffith7   ?80--
Iddison5   ?101--
Lawrence32   ?369--
Caffyn29   ?367--

HH Stephenson's XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Bennettc Curtis b Gilbert4     
C Lawrencec [unknown] b G Moore0     
W Mortlockc Newcombe b G Moore20     
W Caffync Smith b G Moore1     
G Griffithc Gregory b G Moore38     
T Sewellrun out6     
R Iddisonc Curtis b G Moore0     
G Wellsb Conway0     
T Hearnec Curtis b Conway1     
*HH Stephensonc Newcombe b G Moore4     
E Stephensonnot out1     
Total(all out, 61.2 overs)75
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-8, 3-11, 4-46, 5-68, 6-69, 7-69, 8-70, 9-73, 10-75 (61.2 ov)
New South Wales and Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gilbert20   ?311--
G Moore30.2?396--
Conway11   ?52--

New South Wales and Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GHB Gilbertb Caffyn2     
NFD Thomsonc E Stephenson b Caffyn1     
J Huddlestonc and b Caffyn6     
S Cosstickb Sewell9     
JL Kettleb Caffyn2     
HCE Newcombeb Caffyn4     
T Huddlestonc Wells b Caffyn0     
GT Curtisc Wells b Caffyn0     
AL Parknot out3     
J Conwayc Wells b Sewell3     
JC Brodienot out0     
F Rowleydid not bat      
Smithdid not bat      
Currandid not bat      
SG Hopkinsondid not bat      
EJ Gregorydid not bat      
T Mooredid not bat      
JT Clarkedid not bat      
J Mooredid not bat      
G Elliottdid not bat      
J Boakdid not bat      
G Mooredid not bat      
Extras(5 lb)5
Total(9 wickets, 36 overs)35
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-9, 3-11, 4-24, 5-27, 6-27, 7-27, 8-27, 9-32
HH Stephenson's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Caffyn18   ?166--
Sewell18   ?143--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> Wickets given to bowlers do not agree with batting scorecard for the New South Wales and Victoria second innings

Huddlestone taken a catch in the HH Stephenson's XI second innings, but it is not known which of them this was.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive