Leicestershire v Derbyshire
County Championship 1927
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 9th, 11th, 12th July 1927 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 7 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 8; Derbyshire 0
UmpiresLC Braund, J Moss
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 247/8 (Loney 20*, Elliott 12*)
Close of play day 2Derbyshire (2) 6/0 (Bowden 2*, Worthington 4*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Bowdenb Skelding27      
H Storerlbw b Snary36      
AG Slaterc Sidwell b Shipman3      
*GR Jacksonc Snary b Skelding11      
GM Leec Geary b Skelding11      
AHM Jacksonb Snary12      
LF Townsendc Snary b Astill28      
TS Worthingtonc Sidwell b Skelding73      
EF Loneynot out30      
+H Elliottlbw b Astill12      
W Shardlowc Skelding b Astill6      
Extras(8 b, 6 lb)14
Total(all out, 140 overs)263
Fall of wickets:
1-57, 2-73, 3-83, 4-90, 5-103, 6-123, 7-182, 8-226, 9-251, 10-263 (140 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shipman14   3381--
Skelding34   11764--
Astill30   9673--
Geary30   17340--
Snary32   16342--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dawsonlbw b Lee51      
AW Shipmanc Lee b Storer28      
GL Berryc Elliott b Townsend42      
JC Bradshawst Elliott b Townsend49      
WE Astillb Storer22      
NF Armstrongc Lee b Worthington33      
G Gearyb Storer31      
*GHS Fowkec Elliott b Storer0      
+TE Sidwellc Worthington b Lee8      
HC Snarynot out0      
A Skeldingc Worthington b Storer0      
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 139.4 overs)281
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-91, 3-160, 4-197, 5-217, 6-250, 7-251, 8-273, 9-281, 10-281 (139.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Worthington22   11411--
AHM Jackson7   3110--
Townsend18   6402--
Lee29   6502--
Shardlow17   9180--
Slater9   3260--
Loney3   0120--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Bowdenlbw b Geary21      
TS Worthingtonc Dawson b Skelding11      
AG Slaterb Shipman2      
*GR Jacksonb Astill28      
H Storerc Armstrong b Geary9      
GM Leec Berry b Geary5      
AHM Jacksonb Geary1      
LF Townsendc Snary b Geary1      
EF Loneyb Astill0      
+H Elliottnot out0      
W Shardlowb Geary0      
Extras(2 b, 4 lb)6
Total(all out, 45.5 overs)84
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-17, 3-55, 4-67, 5-74, 6-79, 7-83, 8-84, 9-84, 10-84 (45.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shipman7   2141--
Skelding8   4171--
Astill16   3292--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dawsonc Lee b Townsend43      
AW Shipmannot out15      
GL Berryb Slater3      
JC Bradshawc GR Jackson b Slater0      
WE Astillnot out1      
NF Armstrongdid not bat      
G Gearydid not bat      
*GHS Fowkedid not bat      
+TE Sidwelldid not bat      
HC Snarydid not bat      
A Skeldingdid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(3 wickets, 27 overs)67
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-62, 3-62
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Worthington4   130--
Townsend11   4171--
Lee3   130--
Storer4   0270--
Slater5   2122--

--> H Storer (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> H Elliott (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 5
--> EW Dawson (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 49
--> WE Astill (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 13





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive