Surrey v Australians
Australia in British Isles 1926
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 28th, 29th, 30th July 1926 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossAustralians won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresJ Bedford, HR Butt
Close of play day 1Australians (1) 355/7 (Ryder 58*, Grimmett 6*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (1) 82/6 (Jardine 20*)

Australians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*W Bardsleyc Fender b Shepherd18     
WM Woodfullc Lockton b Fender156     
CG Macartneyb Lockton23     
TJE Andrewsc Jardine b Peach18     
WH Ponsfordc Peach b Lockton1     
JM Taylorc Jardine b Peach43     
J Ryderc Jardine b Fender104     
+WAS Oldfieldc Shepherd b Peach10     
CV Grimmettc Jeacocke b Peach34     
CS Everettnot out3     
AA Maileydid not bat      
Extras(19 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)22
Total(9 wickets, declared, 144.4 overs)432
Fall of wickets:
1-55, 2-87, 3-130, 4-137, 5-250, 6-307, 7-331, 8-428, 9-432 (144.4 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Holmes11   0380--
Peach39   9814--
Shepherd27   4771--
Lockton30   6972--
Jardine5   0210--
Gregory2   090--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsc Oldfield b Ryder9     
A Sandhamlbw b Macartney15     
A Jeacockec Andrews b Grimmett11     
TF Shepherdc Ponsford b Grimmett4     
DR Jardinenot out20     
RJ Gregoryc Oldfield b Grimmett7     
*PGH Fenderc Everett b Grimmett12     
HA Peachdid not bat      
ERT Holmesdid not bat      
JH Locktondid not bat      
+H Strudwickdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb)4
Total(6 wickets, 43.2 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-31, 3-39, 4-42, 5-64, 6-82 (43.2 ov)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Everett6   280--
Ryder9   3181--
Macartney11   4141--
Mailey5   280--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> CV Grimmett reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Surrey first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive