Derbyshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1925
VenueThe Town Ground, Burton-on-Trent on 4th, 6th, 7th July 1925 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsDerbyshire 3; Leicestershire 1
UmpiresH Chidgey, D Denton
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 17/2 (Berry 3*, Dowen 3*)
Close of play day 2Derbyshire (2) 56/1 (Lee 24*, Townsend 26*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Leerun out10     
J Bowdenc Fowke b Geary55     
LF Townsendc Sidwell b Astill59     
*GR Jacksonc Geary b Shipman110 150   
FG Peachb Geary1     
JM Hutchinsonc Astill b Skelding12     
A Mortonc Geary b Skelding3     
JS Heathb Skelding2     
J Horsleyb Bale12     
+H Elliottnot out12     
W Bestwickc Coulson b Geary0     
Extras(6 b, 11 lb, 1 nb)18
Total(all out, 105.5 overs)294
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-117, 3-170, 4-172, 5-208, 6-212, 7-220, 8-263, 9-293, 10-294 (105.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Skelding25   4853-1
Astill27   11581--
Bale17   7361--
Smith7   1250--
Shipman7   2181--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanlbw b Bestwick8     
SS Coulsonc Elliott b Horsley3     
GL Berryc Elliott b Morton31     
NT Dowenb Bestwick16     
WE Astillc Hutchinson b Morton39     
*GHS Fowkeb Bestwick50     
G Gearyc Hutchinson b Morton28     
+TE Sidwellc Horsley b Morton10     
HA Smithb Heath65     
F Baleb Horsley6     
A Skeldingnot out8     
Extras(10 b, 6 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)20
Total(all out, 118 overs)284
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-14, 3-43, 4-100, 5-101, 6-154, 7-176, 8-268, 9-270, 10-284 (118 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bestwick32   12623--
Horsley36   1063212
Morton25   6654--
Heath11   0451--
Townsend9   12101-
Lee5   280--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Leec Astill b Skelding24     
FG Peachb Skelding5     
LF Townsendc Smith b Skelding34     
*GR Jacksonc Geary b Skelding9     
JM Hutchinsonb Astill6     
J Horsleynot out44     
JS Heathc Fowke b Skelding0     
J Bowdenc Astill b Bale24     
A Mortonc Fowke b Bale0     
+H Elliottb Bale0     
W Bestwickdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)6
Total(9 wickets, declared, 85 overs)152
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-56, 3-72, 4-73, 5-81, 6-82, 7-142, 8-146, 9-152 (85 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Skelding25   854511
Astill23   10341--
Shipman10   1210--
Geary13   1250--
Bale14   8123--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanc Elliott b Bestwick0     
GL Berryb Bestwick26     
NT Dowenc Hutchinson b Bestwick2     
WE Astillc Hutchinson b Bestwick5     
G Gearyc and b Bestwick2     
*GHS Fowkec Elliott b Horsley3     
HA Smithc Elliott b Morton10     
+TE Sidwellb Bestwick7     
SS Coulsonb Bestwick0     
F Balenot out2     
A Skeldingdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)3
Total(9 wickets, 34.3 overs)60
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-2, 3-8, 4-10, 5-13, 6-26, 7-47, 8-55, 9-60 (34.3 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Horsley8   2211-1
Morton6   441--
Heath3   0120--

--> HA Smith (1) passed his previous highest score of 62 in first-class matches
--> HA Smith (1) passed his previous highest score of 62 in County Championship matches
--> J Bowden (2) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 18
--> FG Peach made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> FG Peach made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> JS Heath made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JS Heath made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> A Skelding reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> A Morton reached 900 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> W Bestwick reached 1350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive