Queensland Colts v New South Wales Colts
Other matches in Australia 1957/58 (Sydney Gregory Cup)
VenueBrisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane on 5th, 6th, 7th November 1957 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossQueensland Colts won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew South Wales Colts won by 8 wickets
UmpiresAW Bool, WC McInnes
Close of play day 1New South Wales Colts (1) 45/1 (Erby 16*, Murray 0*)
Close of play day 2Queensland Colts (2) 96/2 (Oxenford 33*, Mihell 48*)

Queensland Colts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IB Oxenfordb Rorke7 381- 
GE Thomassonc and b Watkins11 751- 
HR Gartrellb Rorke17 711- 
RW Mihellst Hopper b Marjoribanks20 761- 
*TR Veiversc Erby b Marjoribanks56 1106- 
DV Applegarthc Hopper b O'Regan16 371- 
+WR Johnstoneb O'Regan0 4-- 
DA Bichelrun out3 5-- 
CE Westawayc Muller b Marjoribanks24 1041 
AP Powerc and b Marjoribanks1 17-- 
PJ Allannot out0 8-- 
Extras(9 b, 2 nb)11
Total(all out, 230 minutes, 51.2 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Oxenford), 2-29 (Thomasson), 3-47 (Gartrell), 4-75 (Mihell), 5-105 (Applegarth), 6-109 (Johnstone), 7-113 (Bichel), 8-139 (Westaway), 9-163 (Power), 10-166 (Veivers, 51.2 ov)
New South Wales Colts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rorke12   4232-1
O'Regan18   7452-1
Watkins11   2241--

New South Wales Colts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JGW Erbyc Allan b Bichel16 85-- 
*KF Mullerb Allan20 502- 
WA Murrayst Johnstone b Bichel55 1582- 
G Thomasc Westaway b Allan57 1044- 
BA Rothwellc Westaway b Applegarth24 243- 
NG Marksb Power22 621- 
+RM Hopperst Johnstone b Bichel4 21-- 
GF Rorkec Allan b Applegarth7 5-- 
HL Marjoribanksc Johnstone b Power14 192- 
TD Watkinsc Veivers b Power3 11-- 
JB O'Regannot out1 1-- 
Extras(7 b, 2 nb)9
Total(all out, 280 minutes, 74.4 overs)232
Fall of wickets:
1-35 (Muller), 2-46 (Erby), 3-146 (Thomas), 4-178 (Rothwell), 5-182 (Murray), 6-192 (Hopper), 7-199 (Rorke), 8-220 (Marks), 9-231 (Marjoribanks), 10-232 (Watkins, 74.4 ov)
Queensland Colts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Allan17   7322--
Applegarth8   2252--
Bichel23   3633--
Westaway13   1520--

Queensland Colts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IB Oxenfordlbw b Rorke103 2607- 
GE Thomassonb Rorke3 25-- 
HR Gartrellb Rorke0 9-- 
RW Mihellc Thomas b Marjoribanks89 17891 
*TR Veiversc Thomas b Watkins0 4-- 
DV Applegarthc and b Marjoribanks7 181- 
DA Bichelc Hopper b O'Regan13 261- 
+WR Johnstonenot out5 241- 
CE Westawayb O'Regan13 201- 
AP Powerdid not bat      
PJ Allandid not bat      
Extras(13 b, 3 nb)16
Total(8 wickets, declared, 285 minutes, 71.1 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Thomasson), 2-9 (Gartrell), 3-175 (Mihell), 4-177 (Veivers), 5-199 (Applegarth), 6-227 (Oxenford), 7-229 (Bichel), 8-249 (Westaway, 71.1 ov)
New South Wales Colts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rorke14   2463-1
Watkins19   6571--
Marjoribanks15   0742--
Rothwell3   0110--

New South Wales Colts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JGW Erbyst Johnstone b Westaway17 50-- 
*KF Mullernot out89 14612- 
WA Murrayb Westaway0 1-- 
G Thomasnot out75 928- 
BA Rothwelldid not bat      
NG Marksdid not bat      
+RM Hopperdid not bat      
GF Rorkedid not bat      
HL Marjoribanksdid not bat      
TD Watkinsdid not bat      
JB O'Regandid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 1 nb)3
Total(2 wickets, 146 minutes, 39.6 overs)184
Fall of wickets:
1-37 (Erby), 2-37 (Murray)
Queensland Colts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Power4   0240-1
Applegarth6   0380--
Bichel8   0370--
Westaway8   0442--
Veivers1   070--

Twelfth men: RE Hughson (Queensland Colts), E Gilroy (New South Wales Colts)
Match notes
The second innings third wicket partnership of 166 between IB Oxenford and RW Mihell was the first century partnership to be recorded by Queensland Colts in Sydney Gregory Cup matches. IDF Callinan was an original selection in the Queensland Colts team but withdrew as the match coincided with his University examinations. DA Bichel was then selected to replace him. HB Taber was selected as the wicket keeper for New South Wales Colts but withdrew as the match coincided with his leaving certificate examinations. K Herron was selected to replace him but could not obtain the necessary leave from his place of work. RM Hopper was then brought into the team.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive