Crewe v Australians
Australia in British Isles 1878
VenueAlexandra Athletic Ground, Crewe on 25th, 26th, 27th July 1878 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
PlayersCrewe: 22; Australians: 11
TossCrewe won the toss and decided to field
ResultAustralians won by 99 runs
UmpiresHH Hyslop, Williamson
Close of play day 1Crewe (1) 3/2 (Lawler 0*)
Close of play day 2Australians (2) 102 all out

Australians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
C Bannermanc Lyons b Dillon7     
WL Murdochc Lyons b Dillon1     
TP Horanc and b Dillon1     
*DW Gregoryc Banks b Dillon23     
TW Garrettc Banks b Dillon35     
FR Spofforthc Rylott b Holden24     
GH Baileyc Trevithick b Dillon0     
+JM Blackhamc Banks b Dillon23     
FE Allanc Moorcroft b Rylott10     
HF Boylenot out0     
AC Bannermanabsent hurt
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 4 w)6
Total(all out, 75 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Murdoch), 2-8 (C Bannerman), 3-12 (Horan), 4-55 (Gregory), 5-70 (Garrett), 6-91 (Bailey), 7-91 (Spofforth), 8-? (Blackham), 9-130 (Allan, 75 ov)
Crewe bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rylott16   7251--
Dillon25   65471-
Wilson14   4200--
Hassall10   660--
Holden10   11913-

Crewe first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Lyonsb Garrett3     
E Lawlerb Boyle2     
WJ Turnbullc and b Garrett0     
F Holdenb Boyle5     
AR Trevithickb Spofforth12     
D Forsterst Blackham b Boyle1     
DH Brownfieldb Spofforth1     
T Moorcroftb Spofforth0     
W Dillonc Murdoch b Boyle2     
RJ Wilsonb Spofforth0     
*G Timmisb Spofforth0     
A Rylottc AC Bannerman b Boyle1     
C Hassallst Blackham b Spofforth7     
+G Banksc Blackham b Boyle0     
G Davenportc AC Bannerman b Spofforth0     
W Worsdellc C Bannerman b Boyle1     
HN Brownb Boyle2     
WD Lairdc Boyle b Spofforth5     
EC Fordc Murdoch b Spofforth5     
EWD Broughtonb Spofforth2     
R Owenc C Bannerman b Boyle1     
Allannot out0     
Extras(1 b, 3 w)4
Total(all out, 54.3 overs)54
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Lyons), 2-3 (Turnbull), 3-9 (Lawler), 4-20 (Trevithick), 5-21 (Forster), 6-24 (Brownfield), 7-24 (Holden), 8-24 (Moorcroft), 9-24 (Wilson), 10-26 (Timmis), 11-26 (Dillon), 12-28 (Rylott), 13-28 (Banks), 14-29 (Davenport), 15-35 (Hassall), 16-35 (Worsdell), 17-41 (Brown), 18-41 (Laird), 19-52 (Broughton), 20-53 (Ford), 21-54 (Owen, 54.3 ov)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Garrett12   6122--
Spofforth15   61310--

Australians second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
C Bannermanc Rylott b Turnbull29     
WL Murdochc Wilson b Rylott3     
TP Horanc Laird b Rylott1     
FE Allanc Laird b Rylott2     
GH Baileyc Moorcroft b Turnbull2     
HF Boylec Rylott b Timmis4     
TW Garrettc Holden b Timmis6     
FR Spofforthrun out18     
+JM Blackhamc Rylott b Timmis24     
*DW Gregoryb Rylott10     
AC Bannermannot out0     
Extras(1 b, 2 w)3
Total(all out, 89 overs)102
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Murdoch), 2-46 (C Bannerman), 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-102 (89 ov)
Crewe bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rylott45   28324--
Wilson11   3140--
Dillon5   0100--
Holden2   080--
Turnbull3   0921-
Timmis23   82631-

Crewe second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
F Holdenc Murdoch b Spofforth0     
A Rylottc and b Boyle3     
W Lyonsc Garrett b Boyle0     
E Lawlerc Murdoch b Spofforth4     
WJ Turnbullc C Bannerman b Spofforth0     
AR Trevithickc AC Bannerman b Boyle1     
DH Brownfieldb Boyle2     
T Moorcroftc AC Bannerman b Spofforth3     
W Dillonc Blackham b Boyle9     
RJ Wilsonb Boyle7     
*G Timmislbw b Boyle7     
C Hassallc Boyle b Spofforth6     
+G Banksb Spofforth2     
G Davenportc Horan b Spofforth3     
W Worsdellst Blackham b Boyle0     
HN Brownb Spofforth3     
WD Lairdc Garrett b Spofforth0     
EC Fordst Blackham b Boyle18     
EWD Broughtonc Murdoch b Spofforth6     
R Owennot out0     
Allanb Boyle2     
D Forsterabsent
Extras(3 b)3
Total(all out, 57.3 overs)79
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-?, 12-?, 13-?, 14-?, 15-?, 16-?, 17-?, 18-?, 19-?, 20-79 (57.3 ov)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyle29   124310--





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive