Oxford University v Middlesex
University Match 1923
VenueThe University Parks, Oxford on 16th, 17th, 18th May 1923 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMiddlesex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMiddlesex won by 16 runs
UmpiresHF Aldworth, H Barrett
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 51/0 (Stevens 28*, Taylor 21*)
Close of play day 2Middlesex (2) 141/4 (Hill 6*, Mann 39*)

Middlesex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HW Leelbw b Stevens19      
RH Hillc Lyon b Stevens30      
JW Hearnec Blaikie b Stevens1      
EH Hendrenc Lyon b Robertson-Glasgow56      
*FT Mannc Blaikie b Robertson-Glasgow25      
GEV Crutchleyb Robertson-Glasgow0      
AR Tannerc Hedges b Blaikie50      
+HR Murrellc Patten b Blaikie16      
LRV Prenticec and b Bettington0      
CB Sharperun out0      
FJ Durstonnot out4      
Extras(9 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)12
Total(all out, 66.3 overs)213
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-46, 3-75, 4-116, 5-116, 6-153, 7-209, 8-209, 9-209, 10-213 (66.3 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robertson-Glasgow22   4723-1
Stevens20   6473--
Bettington11   2491--
Hewetson6   3160--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GTS Stevensc Hill b Hearne41      
CH Taylorb Durston114  112  
HO Hopkinsb Tanner5      
LP Hedgesc Hendren b Tanner0      
KG Blaikieb Lee6      
BH Lyonc Hendren b Tanner4      
*RHB Bettingtonb Tanner66      
PE Lawriec Hearne b Prentice39      
EP Hewetsonc Hearne b Prentice17      
+M Pattenb Hearne2      
RC Robertson-Glasgownot out2      
Extras(16 b, 2 w)18
Total(all out, 89.2 overs)314
Fall of wickets:
1-71, 2-89, 3-89, 4-104, 5-109, 6-219, 7-272, 8-310, 9-310, 10-314 (89.2 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prentice6   12422-
Tanner21   0704--
Lee13   2681--
Durston21   5511--
Hendren5   0200--

Middlesex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HW Leelbw b Stevens3      
GEV Crutchleyc Bettington b Robertson-Glasgow10      
JW Hearnelbw b Bettington67      
EH Hendrenc Robertson-Glasgow b Stevens11      
*FT Mannlbw b Bettington54      
RH Hillc Stevens b Robertson-Glasgow15      
AR Tannerb Robertson-Glasgow15      
+HR Murrellrun out0      
LRV Prenticerun out0      
CB Sharpenot out0      
FJ Durstonb Bettington0      
Extras(12 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)16
Total(all out, 60.2 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-35, 3-48, 4-117, 5-165, 6-187, 7-187, 8-187, 9-191, 10-191 (60.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robertson-Glasgow16   2493-1
Stevens16   7392--
Hewetson4   0160--
Blaikie5   0150--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GTS Stevensc Prentice b Durston39      
CH Taylorb Durston0      
HO Hopkinsb Hearne11      
LP Hedgesc Murrell b Durston1      
KG Blaikieb Durston6      
BH Lyonb Durston5      
*RHB Bettingtonb Durston0      
PE Lawrieb Durston0      
EP Hewetsonrun out0      
+M Pattenb Durston4      
RC Robertson-Glasgownot out0      
Extras(8 b)8
Total(all out, 26.2 overs)74
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-20, 3-29, 4-37, 5-53, 6-53, 7-53, 8-55, 9-69, 10-74 (26.2 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hearne13   1391--

--> AR Tanner (1) passed his previous highest score of 46 in first-class matches
--> CH Taylor (1) passed his previous highest score of 45 in first-class matches
--> CH Taylor (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> LRV Prentice made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> CB Sharpe made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AR Tanner achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 3-27)
--> RHB Bettington reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Middlesex second innings
--> FJ Durston achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University second innings (previous best was 7-32)
--> FJ Durston completed a hat-trick in the Oxford University second innings (Lyon, Bettington, Lawrie)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive