Surrey v Sussex
County Match 1860
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 31st May, 1st, 2nd June 1860 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresT Barker, T Sewell
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Sussex (1) 56/5 (Lillywhite 11*; 33.3 overs)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RA Bayfordc Lillywhite b Helm3      
T Sewellc and b Helm30      
HH Stephensonb Lillywhite11      
W Caffynrun out73      
+T Lockyerst Hale b Southerton31      
W Mortlockc Hale b Ellis47      
G Griffithb Reed23      
J Caesarnot out45      
GT Estridgeb Lillywhite34      
JH Heartfieldlbw b Lillywhite1      
T Shermanb Lillywhite3      
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 10 w)22
Total(all out, 147.3 overs)323
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-43, 3-59, 4-152, 5-176, 6-228, 7-240, 8-309, 9-315, 10-323 (147.3 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Helm16   53326-
Stubberfield33   10650--
Reed26   7481--
Wells4   1110--
Dean10   2250--
Southerton8   1271--
Ellis6   1161--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+JH Haleb Caffyn20      
J Southertonb Caffyn3      
A Haygarthst Lockyer b Stephenson11      
G Wellsb Stephenson0      
J Lillywhitenot out11      
*E Napperb Stephenson10      
CH Ellisdid not bat      
H Stubberfielddid not bat      
GF Helmdid not bat      
WB Reeddid not bat      
J Deandid not bat      
Extras(1 nb)1
Total(5 wickets, 33.3 overs)56
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-29, 3-33, 4-41, 5-56 (33.3 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Caffyn17   5252--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> W Mortlock (1) passed his previous highest score of 38 in first-class matches
--> JH Heartfield made his debut in first-class matches
--> GF Helm made his debut in first-class matches
--> WB Reed made his debut in first-class matches
--> RA Bayford made his debut for Surrey in first-class matches
--> HH Stephenson reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Sussex first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive