Sri Lanka announce squad for India tour
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:SHT Kandamby, JK Silva
Event:Sri Lanka in India 2009/10

DateLine: 28th October 2009


Sri Lanka included two uncapped players - Thilina Kandamby and wicket-keeper batsman Kaushal Silva - in the test squad for the upcoming tour of India. Meanwhile, left-arm fast bowler Chanaka Welegedra, who last played in 2007, has also been recalled to the national squad.


Opener Malinda Warnapura and middle order batsman Chamara Kapugedera are the notable exclusions in the 16-man touring party.


Kandamby was included on the back of some strong performances in ODIs. He has scored 618 runs from 17 ODIs at an average of 44.14 including five half-centuries since his recall last year.


Kaushal Silva is a left-handed batsman who was prolific in the domestic season. He also captained Sri Lanka A against Pakistan A earlier this year. Silva is highly rated by captain Kumar Sangakkara.


Welagedara has also been included for the two Twenty20s along with big-hitting Chintaka Jayasinghe and Kaushalya Weeraratne and allrounder Muthumudalige Pushpakumara. Meanwhile, Dilhara Fernando has been recalled to the ODI squad.


Test squad : Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Paranavitana, Thilan Samaraweera, Anjelo Mathews, Thilina Kandamby, Prasanna Jayawardena, Kaushal Silva, Chanaka Welegedara, Thilan Thushara Mirando, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis.


One-day International squad : Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilina Kandamby, Upul Tharanga, Anjelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Sanath Jayasuriya, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Thilan Thushara Mirando, Nuwan Kulasekera, Ajantha Mendis.


Twenty20 squad : Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene, Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Anjelo Mathews, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Kaushal Weerarathne, Ajantha Mendis, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Chanaka Welegedara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera.


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive